بلدة عربية إسرائيلية تبني جنة خضراء فوق مكب نفايات *

تعمل بلدية الطيبة على تأهيل موقع نفايات وتحويله إلى منتزه.

 

سكان مدينة الطيبة الإسرائيلية متفائلون. خلال الأشهر القليلة الماضية، كانت البلدية العربية تقدم خطة طموحة لإعادة تأهيل موقع نفايات شرق الطيبة. ترغب البلدية في تحويل تلال القمامة إلى مساحة خضراء شاسعة بها أشجار ومناطق نزهة وممرات للدراجات وملاعب. وستكون أول حديقة في المدينة.

تبدأ قصة شرق الطيبة قبل 50 عامًا، في السبعينيات. لمدة 30 عامًا، وحتى عام 2000، قام أهالي الطيبة والسلطات المحلية بإلقاء النفايات في الموقع. وعندما أصبح من الواضح أن الموقع لا يتوافق مع المعايير البيئية، تم إغلاقه وتم التخلي عن المنطقة لسنوات عديدة. بذلت السلطات الحد الأدنى لضمان استقرار الموقع ومنع النفايات الخطيرة من تلويث المياه الجوفية. ولكن بخلاف ذلك، بقيت تلال القمامة مطلة على المدينة الصاخبة والأراضي الزراعية المجاورة.

عانت البلدات العربية الإسرائيلية من نقص في الميزانية لعقود من الزمن. ولكن في عام 2016، تبنت الحكومة خطة لمدة 5 سنين للاستثمار في البنية التحتية والصحة والتعليم في القطاع العربي. تم إحراز تقدم ولكن لا يزال الطريق طويل حتى تتمتع المدن والقرى العربية بنفس الخدمات والبنية التحتية التي تتمتع بها المدن والقرى اليهودية. الفجوات ببساطة هائلة للغاية.

في عام 2015، وقعت إسرائيل اتفاقية باريس للمناخ، والتي حددت سلسلة من الأهداف البيئية. ولكن بالنسبة للعديد من السلطات العربية المحلية، كانت هذه الأهداف بعيدة المنال ولا تزال كذلك. ينشغل رؤساء البلديات بتلبية الاحتياجات الأساسية لسكانهم، مثل رصف الطرق الترابية أو بناء مدارس. فالبيئة ليست لها الأولوية القصوى بالنسبة لهم.

وفي العديد من هذه البلدات العربية الإسرائيلية، فببساطة إن الاستخدام الفعال للطاقة ليس على جدول الأعمال، والعديد من المخاطر البيئية لا تتم معالجتها. على سبيل المثال، تواجه عدة بلديات عربية مشكلة توفير المياه النظيفة لسكانها ومشكلة أخرى وهي الشفافية، حيث إن السلطات الوطنية في إسرائيل تقدم القليل من المعلومات البيئية باللغة العربية أو لا تقدم أي معلومات على الإطلاق.

مع أخذ كل ذلك في الاعتبار، فإن بلدية الطيبة تقدم الآن نموذجًا رائعًا. صحيح، إنه فقط في بداية طريق طويل، مع وجود العديد من العقبات في المستقبل، لكن الخطط والحماس المحلي مثيران للإعجاب.

مراد شيخ يوسف هو مدير دائرة البيئة في البلدية. وقال لـ “المونيتور” إن البلدية تطالب بتمويل مشروع إعادة التأهيل. وأوضح: “لقد طلبنا بالفعل في أغسطس من وزارة حماية البيئة أن توصي بالمشروع لوضع ميزانية”. وقال أيضا إنه يعمل مع أمين الطيبة، شعاع منصور الملتزم بالمشروع ومنخرط في الجهود المبذولة للنهوض به.

تتضمن خطة إعادة التأهيل بناء حديقة كبيرة تضم منحدرات مليئة بالنباتات المحلية ومسارات المشي وممرات الدراجات ومناطق بالأرض للنزهات والملاعب. هناك خطط لبناء مسرح في الهواء الطلق ومقهى. ولكن قبل بدء العمل لتسوية الأرض وزراعة الأشجار، يجب أن يخضع الموقع بأكمله لإعادة التأهيل الهيكلي، والذي سيشمل تقييم ومراقبة جيوب الغاز تحت الأرض الناتجة عن النفايات، ومعالجة أي حرائق تحت الأرض، وإنشاء أنظمة الصرف والحماية من التآكل وضغط المنحدرات. وتم تصميم المخططات أيضًا لتتكامل مع الحي السكني المجاور.

دخلت البلدية في شراكة مع مبادرة كليما – ميد الممولة من للاتحاد الأوروبي، والتي تجمع المدن والمجتمعات في منطقة جنوب البحر الأبيض المتوسط وتعزز المشاريع المتعلقة بالمناخ. يساعد كليما – ميد البلديات على إعداد خطط لمواجهة نمو استهلاك الطاقة والتحديات الأخرى الناشئة عن أزمة المناخ العالمية، مثل تقليل انبعاثات الكربون وزيادة استخدام الطاقات المتجددة.

مشروع شرق الطيبة هو بالضبط ما تهدف المبادرة من أجله. فإن إعادة تأهيل الموقع يعني أن المياه التي يتم توفيرها لسكان الطيبة ستبقى نظيفة، ولن تتسرب غازات خطرة من المكب، ويمكن للسكان الاستمتاع بمنطقة خضراء شاسعة بهواء نظيف وبوفرة من النباتات.

كان يوسف ومنصور يخططان للقاء في أوروبا مع كبار مسؤولي مبادرة كليما – ميد، لكن الرحلة ألغيت بسبب الوباء. ومن المقرر أن يجتمعوا من خلال الانترنت مع العديد من المسؤولين الإيطاليين اليوم لتقديم الخطط، وطلب المشورة والدعم المالي المحتمل. إن الوباء يبطئ الأمور، لكن الطيبة لا تستسلم لأنه بعد فترة طويلة من الإقفال التام، الحديقة العامة هي بالضبط ما تحتاجه هذه المدينة.

 

* article posted in Al-Monitor on December 16, 2020, author: Rina Bassist;

photo courtesy to Al-Monitor: الصورة: عرض يوضح مخططات إنشاء حديقة تابعة لمشروع إعادة تأهيل مكب شرق الطيبة في الطيبة، إسرائيل. تصوي مشروع إعادة تأهيل مكب شرق الطيبة.

القائمة

Arab-Israeli town to build green paradise over dump *

The municipality of Taibeh is working to rehabilitate a waste site and turn it into a park.

Residents of the Israeli city of Taibeh are hopeful. For the past few months, the Arab municipality has been advancing an ambitious plan to rehabilitate the East Taibeh waste site. It would like to turn the garbage hills into a vast green space with trees, picnic areas, bike lanes and playgrounds. It would be the town’s first park.

The story of East Taibeh starts 50 years ago, back in the 1970s. For 30 years, until 2000, the people of Taibeh and the local authorities dumped waste at the site. When it became clear that the site was not compliant with environmental norms it was closed and for many years the area was abandoned. The authorities did the bare minimum to ensure that the site was stable and prevent dangerous waste from contaminating the groundwater. But other than that, the hills of garbage remained, overlooking over the bustling city and adjacent agriculture lands.

Arab-Israeli towns have suffered budgetary lacks for decades. In 2016, the government adopted a five-year plan to invest in infrastructure, health and education in the Arab sector. Progress has been made, but there is still a long way to go until the Arab towns and villages enjoy the same services and infrastructure as the Jewish ones. The gaps are simply too enormous.

In 2015, Israel signed the Paris climate agreement, defining a series of environmental goals. But for many local Arab authorities, these goals were and still are out of reach. The mayors are busy meeting the basic needs of their residents, such as paving dirt roads or building schools. The environment is not necessarily a top priority for them.

In many of these Arab-Israeli towns, efficient energy use is simply not on the agenda and many environmental hazards are unattended. For instance, several Arab municipalities are coping with the problem of supplying clean water to their residents. Another problem is transparency, as the national authorities in Israel offer little to no environmental information in Arabic. Taking all that into account, the municipality of Taibeh is now setting a remarkable example. True, it is only at the beginning of a long road, with many obstacles ahead, but the plans and local enthusiasm are impressive.

Morad Shekh Yusuf is the manager of the municipality’s environmental department. He told Al-Monitor that the municipality is demanding funds for the rehabilitation project. “Already in August we asked the Ministry of Environmental Protection to recommend the project for budgeting,” he explained. He also said that he is working with Taibeh Mayor Shuaa Mansour, who is committed to the project and engaged in the efforts to advance it.

The rehabilitation plan includes the construction of a large park whose slopes are to feature local vegetation, walking paths and bike lanes, and flattened areas for picnics and playgrounds. There are plans for an open-air theater and a cafe. But before work is started to level the ground and plant trees, the whole site must undergo structural rehabilitation, which will include assessing and monitoring the underground gas pockets created by the waste, addressing any underground fires, setting up drainage and erosion protection systems and compacting the slopes. The plans are also designed to integrate with the adjacent residential neighborhood.

The municipality has partnered with the European Union’s CLIMA-MED initiative, which brings together cities and civil societies of the southern Mediterranean region and promotes climate-related projects. CLIMA-MED assists municipalities to prepare plans for addressing energy-consumption growth and other challenges that are emerging from the global climate crisis, such as reducing carbon emissions and increasing the use of renewable energies.

The East Taibeh project is exactly what the initiative is for. The rehabilitation of the site would mean that the water supplied to Taibeh residents will stay clean, that no dangerous gases will leak from the landfill and that the residents can enjoy a vast green area with clean air and plenty of vegetation.

Yusuf and Mansour had planned to meet in Europe with senior CLIMA-MED officials, but the trip was canceled because of the pandemic. They are scheduled to meet virtually with several Italian officials today to present the plans, seeking both advice and possible financial support. The pandemic is slowing things down, but Taibeh is not giving up as after a long period of confinement, a public park is exactly what this city needs.

* article posted in Al-Monitor on December 16, 2020, author: Rina Bassist;

photo courtesy to Al-Monitor

Menu