ميثاق رؤساء المدن والمحليات العالمي للمناخ والطاقة هو تحالف عالمي مبني على التزام أكثر من 9000 مدينة وحكومة محلية. تقع هذه المدن في 6 قارات و 131 دولة، يمثلون مجتمعين أكثر من 800 مليون شخص. من الممكن ان تستطيع المدن المنضمة للميثاق بحلول عام 2030 ان تخفض مجتمعة ما يقدر بحوالي 1,3 مليار طن من ثاني اكسيد الكربون. وهو ما يعادل توقف 276 مليون سيارة عن العمل واخراجهم من الطرق. تعمل مدن الميثاق في إطار رؤية مشتركة طويلة الأجل تهدف إلى تشجيع ودعم العمل التطوعي لمكافحة تغير المناخ والانتقال إلى مجتمع منخفض الانبعاثات ويستند على المبادىء الأساسية التالية:

الحكومات المحلية من المساهمين الرئيسيين: يعمل الميثاق على تنظيم وتحفيز المدن والسلطات المحلية والبلدية ليساهموا بفعالية في وضع حلولا عالمية لقضايا المناخ.

شبكات المدن شركاء أساسيين: تعد شبكات المدن المحلية والإقليمية والعالمية شركاء أساسيين، حيث تعملن كداعم رئيسي للمدن المشاركة والحكومات المحلية.

أجندة حلول قوية: مع التركيز على القطاعات التي يكون للمدن فيها التأثير الأكبر، يدعم الميثاق الحلول المحلية الطموحة والتي تم اعدادها وصياغتها من خلال خطط العمل الاستراتيجية التي تم تسجيلها وتنفيذها ومراقبتها وإتاحتها للجمهور

الحد من انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة وتعزيز القدرة على التكيف مع المناخ: يؤكد الميثاق على أهمية التخفيف من آثار تغير المناخ والتكيف معه، وكذلك زيادة فرص الحصول على طاقة نظيفة وذات تكلفة مقبولة.

تستجيب المدن والحكومات المحلية في جميع أنحاء العالم بشكل متزايد لدعوات العمل المناخي. وفي ضوء ما تقوم به الدول لتحقيق أهداف اتفاقية باريس للمناخ، فلا يمكن أن تكون مشاركة المدن في العمل المناخي أكثر إلحاحا وأهمية من الوقت الحالي.

يشارك في رئاسة الميثاق السيد ماروش شيفوفيتش نائب رئيس المفوضية الأوروبية والسيد مايكل بلومبرج عمدة ميدنة نيويورك السابق والمبعوث الخاص للأمم المتحدة للمدن وتغير المناخ. كما يتلقى الميثاق دعم العديد من شبكات المدن العالمية والإقليمية والعديد من الشركاء في جميع انحاء العالم، كل هذه العوامل تجعل الميثاق أقوى وأوضح إشارة للحكومات الوطنية أن المدن لا تعمل فقط لوقف آثار التغير المناخي بل إنها تستطيع قيادة جهود العمل في مجال المناخ.

[caption id="attachment_8135" align="aligncenter" width="1210"] نطاق تأثير الميثاق في الوقت الحالي: نظرة عامة على المدن والحكومات والمحلية والبلديات المنضمة للميثاق في جميع انحاء العالم[/caption]

الفروع والمكاتب الإقليمية للميثاق

يتم تأسيس وانشاء الفروع والمكاتب الاقليمية للميثاق بهدف مساندة البلديات والمدن والحكومات المحلية بشكل شامل في جميع انحاء العالم. حيث أن كل فرع او ميثاق اقليمي هو عضو في التحالف العالمي للميثاق ويعمل جنبا إلى جنب مع العديد من الحكومات المحلية والبلديات والكثير من الجهات والمؤسسات المحلية لتشجيع العمل المناخي وفي نفس الوقت بناء مجتمعاً من الملتزمين والمُوقعين على مبادرة الميثاق. الجدير بالذكر أن ميثاق رؤساء المحليات والمدن للمناخ والطاقة في منطقة المتوسط CoM Med يساند ثمانية بلدان : الجزائر، مصر، اسرائيل، الأردن، لبنان، المغرب، فلسطين وتونس.

القائمة

The Global Covenant of Mayors for Climate & Energy is an international alliance built upon the commitment of over 9,000 cities and local governments. These cities hail from 6 continents and 131 countries. In total, they represent more than 800 million people. By 2030, Global Covenant cities and local governments could collectively reduce 1.3 billion tons of CO2 emissions per year. That’s the equivalent of taking 276 million cars off the road. The cities and partners of the Global Covenant of Mayors share a long-term vision of promoting and supporting voluntary action to combat climate change and move to a low-carbon emission, resilient society, based on the following core principles:

Local Governments are Key Contributors: The Global Covenant of Mayors works to organize and mobilize cities and local governments to be active contributors to a global climate solution.

City Networks as Critical Partners: Local, regional and global city networks are core partners, serving as the primary support for participating cities and local governments.

A Robust Solution Agenda: Focusing on those sectors where cities have the greatest impact, the Global Covenant of Mayors supports ambitious, locally relevant solutions, captured through strategic action plans that are registered, implemented, monitored and publicly available.

Reducing Greenhouse Gas Emissions and Fostering Local Climate Resilience: The Global Covenant of Mayors emphasizes the importance of climate change mitigation and adaptation, as well as increased access to clean and affordable energy.

Increasingly, cities and local governments across the globe are heeding the call to act. With nations working towards the goals of the Paris climate agreement, cities’ involvement could not be more urgent.

Co-chaired by European Commission Vice President, Maroš Šefčovič, and Former New York City Mayor and UN Secretary-General’s Special Envoy for Cities and Climate Change, Michael R. Bloomberg, with the support of global and regional city networks, as well as numerous partners worldwide the Global Covenant of Mayors represents the strongest and clearest signal to national governments that cities are not only acting to stop the effects of climate change, they are leading and leading together.

[caption id="attachment_8135" align="aligncenter" width="1210"] Current impact of the GCoM: overview of committed cities and local governments worldwide[/caption]

Regional Covenants

Regional/National Covenants of Mayors for Climate & Energy are being developed with the aim of comprehensively supporting every municipality and local government in the world. Each Covenant is a member of the Global Covenant of Mayors alliance, engaging with local governments and other local entities to encourage local level climate action while simultaneously building a community of committed signatories to the initiative. ClimaMed is supporting the GCoM in 8 countries: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Palestine and Tunisia.

Menu