الانتقال إلى الطاقة المتجددة أولوية ملحة في بتلون، لبنان*

السيد مروان قيس هو رئيس بلدية بتلون، في لبنان، منذ عام 2016. بتلون هي بلدة صغيرة في منطقة الشوف، والتي تشكل جزءًا من محمية الشوف للمحيط الحيوي. جمالها الطبيعي وقربها من المحمية وتاريخها الغني يجعلها مكانًا رئيسيًا للسياحة البيئية والثقافية.

يدفع العمدة قيس لرؤية بتلون لتصبح “بلدة خضراء” وقد قام بتنفيذ خطة عمل الطاقة المستدامة والمناخ (SECAP). كان مفتاح ذلك هو مشاركة المدينة في مشروع كليما – ميد وعضويته في ميثاق رؤساء المحليات والمدن في البحر المتوسط.

بالتعاون مع المواطنين والدعم المستمر من المجتمع الدولي، يعتزم رئيس البلدية قيس أن تكون بتلون على المسار الصحيح للمساعدة في الوصول إلى أهداف خفض الانبعاثات لعام 2030 في جنوب البحر المتوسط. أجرى العمدة مقابلة مع داي العالمية (DAI)، قائد التحالف الذي ينفذ مشروع كليما – ميد الممول من الاتحاد الأوروبي، قبل مؤتمر الأطراف 26 مباشرة في غلاسكو، المملكة المتحدة.

كيف كان الوضع في بتلون قبل أن تنخرط في مشروع كليما – ميد؟

“عندما توليت مسؤولية مجلس بلدية بتلون في يونيو 2016، لم يكن هناك أي مشروع للتنمية. لذلك وضعت أنا وزملائي خطة إستراتيجية لمدة ست سنوات، مع رؤية تحويل بتلون إلى نموذج يحتذى به في المدينة البيئية “.

لماذا كان من المهم أن يشارك بتلون؟

تقع بتلون في محمية الشوف للمحيط الحيوي – أكبر محمية أرز طبيعية في لبنان. لهذا السبب، كان لدينا بالفعل، والبلدات المجاورة لنا، رؤية مستدامة وصديقة للبيئة للمستقبل. جاء مشروع كليما – ميد الممول من الاتحاد الأوروبي في وقت مثالي لتقديم الدعم من مجتمع التنمية الدولي والوطني لتحقيق هدفنا المتعلق بالانبعاثات لعام 2030 “.

ما الذي تغير بالنسبة لك وفريقك والمدينة منذ أن بدأت العمل مع كليما – ميد؟

“لقد أظهر لنا العمل مع كليما – ميد طريقة لتحقيق رؤيتنا، وفتح الأبواب وتوجيهنا نحو دعم المجتمع الدولي. وشمل ذلك الانضمام إلى ميثاق رؤساء المحليات والمدن في البحر المتوسط (CoM-Med) *. أدت هذه الشراكة إلى توفير الطاقة الشمسية للمباني العامة الثلاثة في بتلون – مبنى البلدية ومدرستين حكوميتين – نتيجة للتعاون بين مشروعي كليما – ميد و سيدرو في في لبنان “.

أخبرنا عن التحديات التي تواجهها وكيف تتغلب عليها.

“التحدي الرئيسي هو تحدي مالي. الصندوق البلديات المستقل، الذي يجمع جميع الضرائب البلدية التي تجمعها الإدارات الحكومية المختلفة  )المرافق العامة والجمارك وضرائب الممتلكات، على سبيل المثال( فشل طوال السنوات الثلاث الماضية في الوفاء بالتزامه بإعادة توزيع هذه الأموال لمشاريع التنمية المحلية. كما أننا نواجه نقصًا في الدعم الحكومي من أي نوع – فلا توجد صيانة للأضواء العامة على الطرق الرئيسية ولا يوجد إمداد مستمر بالكهرباء أو مياه الشرب؛ ولا يزال العمل على شبكة الصرف الصحي التي تشتد الحاجة إليها لم يبدأ بعد.

لذلك، اتخذنا زمام المبادرة وفي جهودنا لتقديم خطة العمل الخاصة بتغير المناخ، فإننا نبحث عن حلول بديلة. لقد بدأنا إدارة النفايات الصلبة منذ ثلاث سنوات، مع التركيز على فرز النفايات من نقطة المنشأ، ونحن بصدد تركيب وحدة منتجات النفايات العضوية. لقد تلقينا دعمًا لهؤلاء من خلال نشاط تحويل النفايات التابع للوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية عن طريق تشجيع إعادة الاستخدام وإعادة التدوير (DAWERR). ومع ذلك، نحن بحاجة إلى طاقة نظيفة ومتجددة لتشغيل المحطة “.

* المصدر: اقرأ المقابلة الكاملة التي أجراها العمدة كايس مع شركة DAI Global هنا

صورة الغالف: كليما ميد / وديع شحيبر

القائمة

Switching to Renewable Energy is an Urgent Priority in Batloun, Lebanon *

Mr. Marwan Kaiss has been the Mayor of Batloun, Lebanon, since 2016. Batloun is a small town in the Chouf district, which forms part of the Chouf Biosphere Reserve. Its natural beauty, proximity to the Reserve, and rich history make it a top spot for environmental and cultural tourism.

Mayor Kaiss is driven to see Batloun become a “green town” and has been implementing its Climate Change Action Plan (SECAP). Key to this has been the town’s involvement in the Clima-Med project and his membership of the Covenant of Mayors Mediterranean.

With the cooperation of citizens and the continued support of the international community, Mayor Kaiss intends Batloun to be on track to help reach the Southern Mediterranean’s 2030 emission reduction targets. He gave an interview for DAI Global, the Consortium leader implementing the EU-funded Clima-Med project just before COP26 in Glasgow, UK

What was the situation in Batloun before you became involved in the Clima-Med project?

“When I took over responsibility for the Batloun Municipality Council in June 2016, there were no plans for development. So my colleagues and I set out a strategic plan for our six-year term, with the vision of turning Batloun into an eco-town role model.”

Why was it important for Batloun to be involved?

“Batloun is located in the Shouf Biosphere Reserve—the largest natural cedar reserve in Lebanon. For this reason, we and our neighboring towns already had a sustainable, eco-friendly vision for the future. The European Union-funded Clima-Med project came at an ideal time to provide support from the international and national development community to achieve our 2030 emissions target.”

What has changed for you, your team, and the city since you started working with Clima-Med?

“Working with Clima-Med showed us a way to achieve our vision, opening doors and guiding us toward international community support. This included joining the Covenant of Mayors Mediterranean (CoM-Med). * This partnership led to the provision of solar energy to Batloun’s three public buildings—the municipality building and two public schools—as a result of cooperation between Clima-Med and CEDRO V projects in Lebanon.”

Tell us about the challenges you are meeting and how you are overcoming them.

“The main challenge is financial. The Independent Municipalities Fund, which collects all municipal taxes raised by different government departments—public utilities, customs, and property taxes, for example—has failed for the last three years to meet its commitment to redistribute these funds for local development projects. We also face a lack of government support of any kind—there is no maintenance of public lights on main roads nor is there a continuous supply of electricity or drinking water; and work on the much-needed sewage system network still has not begun.

“Therefore, we have taken the initiative and in our efforts to deliver our Climate Change Action Plan, we are seeking alternative solutions. We started solid waste management three years ago, focusing on sorting refuse from the point of origin, and we are in the process of installing an organic waste products unit. We have received support for these through USAID’s Diverting Waste by Encouraging Reuse and Recycling (DAWERR) activity. However, we need to have clean, renewable energy to run the plant.”

*Source: Read the full interview with Mayor Kaiss gave to DAI Global here 

cover photo: Clima-Med/Wadih Chehaibar

Menu