اسم المدينة / البلدية: السلط

السكان: 143626 (2018)

المساحة: 119 كيلو متر مربع

تقع مدينة السلط في قلب لواء السلط وهي تابعة إداريًا لمحافظة البلقاء. تقع على بعد 25 كيلومتراً غرب عمان في منطقة جبلية، ويبلغ متوسط ارتفاعها حوالي 1000 متر فوق مستوى سطح البحر.

اسم المحافظ / عمدة المدينة: السيد خالد حسين الخشمان

الاتصال: info@salt.gov.jo

 الموقع الالكتروني: http://www.salt.gov.jo/

السمات الرئيسية:

تعتبر السلط مدينة زراعية قديمة ومركز إداري في غرب-وسط الأردن. موقعها على الطريق السريع الرئيسي القديم المؤدي من عمان إلى القدس يجعلها مكانًا تاريخيًا استراتيجيا كحلقة وصل تجارية مهمة بين الصحراء الشرقية والغرب، وكانت مكانًا مهمًا للعديد من حكام المنطقة.

الأنشطة الاقتصادية الرئيسية:

تشتهر مدينة السلط بتربتها الخصبة وجودة محاصيلها من الفاكهة والخضروات، وخاصة الزيتون والطماطم والعنب والخوخ، مما يضفي عليها طابعًا زراعيًا.

كما تتمتع المدينة بقطاع سياحي نشط، مع عدد كبير من المرافق والمواقع السياحية التي تضيف إلى المدينة طابعًا سياحيًا وتراثيا ودينيًا.

علاوة على ذلك، تتميز المدينة بنشاط تجاري كبير وتنوع المؤسسات التجارية بالإضافة إلى عدد كبير من المصانع خاصة كمصانع الأدوية والأغذية.

الظروف والتحديات البيئية:

في السلط ونواحيها، بلغ معدل البطالة 19.3٪ أعلى من معدل البطالة في المملكة الاردنية البالغ 18.5٪. تتمتع البلدة ببنية تحتية وخدمات حكومية تؤسس لحياة كريمة. ومع ذلك، لا تزال المدينة بحاجة إلى تحسين كبير للبنية التحتية القائمة فيما يتعلق بمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي وصيانة الطرق وإدارة النفايات الصلبة.

المناخ معتدل وبارد شتاءً ومعتدل صيفاً بمتوسط هطول أمطار 600 ملم. إلا أن المدينة كانت تواجه ارتفاعًا تدريجيًا في درجات الحرارة خلال السنوات الماضية في فصول الصيف تتجاوز المتوسط وتتسبب في حرائق الغابات. بالإضافة إلى التغيرات الأخرى مثل انخفاض هطول الثلوج، فقد ترك تأثيرًا خطيرًا على العديد من القطاعات، بما في ذلك الزراعة والصحة العامة والمياه.

القائمة

Name of City/municipality: Al Salt

Population: 143626 (2018)

Area: 119 Km2

Al salt is located within Al salt Brigade and is administratively affiliated to Balqa Governorate. It is located 25 kilometers west of Amman in a mountainous region, sitting at an average altitude of around 1000 m above sea level.

Name of Mayor: Mr. Khaled Hussein Al-Khashman

Contact: info@salt.gov.jo

Website: http://www.salt.gov.jo/Default.aspx?LNG=1&P=H

Main features:  

It is an ancient agricultural city and administrative center in west-central Jordan. Its location on the old main highway leading from Amman to Jerusalem makes of it a strategic historical place as an important trading link between the eastern desert and the west, it was a significant place for the region’s many rulers.

Main economic activities:

Al Salt is famous for its fertile soil and the quality of its fruit and vegetable harvests, particularly olivestomatoesgrapes & peaches, giving it an agricultural character.

The city has also an active tourism sector, with a large number of facilities and tourist sites that add to the city a tourist, heritage and religious character.

Furthermore, the city is characterized by a large business activity and a variety of commercial establishments as well as a big number of factories mainly pharmaceutical and food production factories.

Conditions and Environmental Challenges:

In Al Salt and its districts the unemployment rate is of 19.3% higher than the Kingdom’s unemployment rate of 18.5%. The locality however enjoys infrastructure and governmental services that sets the basis of a decent life. Nevertheless, the city still need a significant improvement for the existing infrastructure with regards to waste water treatment, roads maintenance and solid waste management.

The climate is mild and cold in winters and mild in summer with an average rainfall of 600 mm. However, the city has been facing the gradual increase in temperature during the past years in summers exceeding the average and causing forest fires. In addition to other changes such as decrease in snow precipitation, it left a serious impact on several sectors, including agriculture, public health and water.

 

Menu