Le chef de la délégation de l’Union européenne en Égypte, Ivan Surkoš a donné le premier prix au lauréat du concours photo Clima-Med pour la région #MENA, M. Mohamed Rahman.

La cérémonie s’est déroulée dans les locaux de la délégation de l’UE au Caire, le 5 mars, où M. Rahman et le coordinateur du projet Clima-Med en Égypte, le Dr Ahmed Sedky, ont été reçus par S.E. Ivan Surkoš.

Le premier lauréat est un photographe freelance égyptien âgé de 33 ans, photojournaliste pendant 5 ans pour un quotidien égyptien. M. Rahman a reçu un appareil photo reflex numérique et un certificat de Clima-Med — agir pour le climat en Méditerranée orientale pour sa photo illustrant la pollution du lac de Manzala.

Lors de la cérémonie, S.E. l’Ambassadeur Surkoš s’est déclaré très préoccupé par les menaces qui pèsent sur l’environnement et les changements climatiques, auxquelles l’Égypte est confrontée, et a réitéré les efforts déployés par l’UE pour y remédier à travers des projets tels que le projet Clima-Med, qui sont déterminants pour l’ensemble de la région.

Les cérémonies de remise des prix pour le deuxième et troisième lauréat ont eu lieu plus tôt en février, à l’occasion de l’atelier Clima-Med et #UNHabitat, organisé avec le concours de la Convention des maires (CdM) à Beyrouth, au Liban.

(L-R) Mr. Alain Daoud, 2nd Prize Winner and Mr. Assem Sultan 3rd Prize Winner received their awards and certificates at UN-Habitat’s workshop, organized in collaboration with the Covenant of Mayors in Beirut, Lebanon

Le deuxième lauréat, M. Alain Daoud, un architecte de 30 ans, a reçu un drone pour sa photographie « Témoin de la chute », tandis que le 3e lauréat, M. Assem Sultan, un photographe de 25 ans, a obtenu un abonnement pour une plate-forme de galeries de photographies pour lui permettre de partager ses œuvres avec le monde entier.

Le concours de photos régional de Clima-Med, organisé par Clima-Med en collaboration avec l’ Union européenne et Human Dynamics, a été lancé le 16 novembre pour sensibiliser le public sur la façon dont le climat affecte la vie quotidienne et les paysages dans la région du sud de la Méditerranée, et remédier à l’urgence de solutions durables pour atténuer les effets du changement climatique attribuables aux activités humaines.

Les personnalités membres du jury pour le concours étaient le célèbre photographe Wadih Chehaibar, le chef d’équipe de Clima-Med, M. Naguib Amin, la directrice de projet de Human Dynamics, Mme Nadya Boneva et d’autres parties prenantes du projet habilitées à sélectionner les candidatures retenues.

Menu

The Head of the European Union Delegation in Egypt – Ivan Surkoš gave the first prize to the winner in the Clima-Med Photo Contest for the #MENA region – Mr. Mohamed Rahman.

The ceremony took place in the premises of the EU Delegation in Cairo, on March 5th, where Mr. Rahman and Clima-Med’s project coordinator in Egypt, Dr. Ahmed Sedky, were received by H.E. Ivan Surkoš.

The first prize winner is a 33-year-old freelance photographer from Egypt, who worked as a photojournalist for 5 years with a daily newspaper in Egypt . Mr. Rahman received a DSLR camera and a Certificate from Clima-Med – Acting for Climate in South Mediterranean for his photo, illustrating the Pollution of Lake Manzala.

At the ceremony, H.E. Ambassador Surkoš has expressed much concern with the environmental and climate change threats, which Egypt is facing, and reiterated EU’s efforts to tackle these through projects such as the Clima-Med project, which are instrumental for the whole region.

The award ceremonies for the second and third prize winners took place earlier in February, at the Clima-Med’s and #UNHabitat workshop, organized in collaboration with the Covenant of Mayors CoM in Beirut, Lebanon.

(L-R) Mr. Alain Daoud, 2nd Prize Winner and Mr. Assem Sultan 3rd Prize Winner received their awards and certificates at UN-Habitat’s workshop, organized in collaboration with the Covenant of Mayors in Beirut, Lebanon

The second prize winner – Mr. Alain Daoud, a 30 y.o architect received a drone for his photograph ‘’Witnessing the fall’’, while the 3rd prize winner – Mr. Assem Sultan a 25-years old photographer got a subscription for a photo-portfolio platform as an opportunity to share his works with the world.

The regional Clima-Med Photo Competition, was organized by Clima-Med in collaboration with the EuropeanUnion and Human Dynamics, and launched on November 16th to bring awareness on how climate is affecting daily life and landscapes in South Mediterranean region, and to address the urgency of sustainable solutions to diminish the effects of human-induced climate change.

Distinguished members of the jury for the competition were the well-known photographer Wadih Chehaibar, Clima-Med’s Team Leader – Mr. Naguib Amin, Ms. Nadya Boneva Project Director for Human Dynamics and other project stakeholders, who were entitled to make the selection with shortlisted nominations.

Menu